GayNZ Logo & Link
Tuesday 30 May 2017

US: Supreme Court discusses marriage

Posted in: International News
By Daily News staff - 30th September 2014

The US Supreme Court’s nine justices have met to discuss whether they should take up the issue of marriage equality.

There are seven cases before the court, from Utah, Oklahoma, Wisconsin, Virginia and Indiana.

If the Supreme Court agrees to hear one or more of the cases, oral arguments will happen next year. Any ruling could impact on all 31 states which disallow same-sex marriage.

Marriage equality advocates say the state bans violate the US Constitution's guarantee of equal treatment under the law.

Marriage equality in the US (via

A total of 19 US states have marriage equality:  Massachusetts (May 2004), California (June 2008 & June 2013), Connecticut (Nov. 2008), Iowa (April 2009), Vermont (Sept. 2009), New Hampshire (Jan. 2010), District of Columbia (March 2010), New York (June 2011), Washington (Dec. 2012), Maine (Dec. 2012), Maryland (Jan. 2013),  Delaware (July 2013), Rhode Island (Aug. 1, 2013), Minnesota (Aug. 2013), New Jersey (Oct. 2013), Hawaii (Dec. 2, 2013), New Mexico (Dec. 2013), Oregon (May 2014), Pennsylvania (May 2014), and Illinois (June 2014)

The other 31 states have bans on Marriage Equality through state laws, amendments to state constitutions, or both.

On 26 June 2013 the United States Supreme Court ruled in Windsor v. United States that Section 3 of the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) is unconstitutional.

   Bookmark and Share

 Latest News Headlines

Vicki Letele dies in hospital
New mental health publication seeks submissions
Aus loses out on millions of dollars to NZ for weddings
Accusation: Mortuary denigration of dead gays
Queer women misinformed about cervical smears